Answered By: Michael Pujals Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 Views: 32
If you click the delete button from the all references view, yes,
your reference is removed from your database and all folders (you will
get a warning message telling you it will be removed completely)
However, if you view a list of references in a folder view (i.e., View/Folders or Folders/View) you will see a Remove from Folder button. Selecting references and then clicking on this button only removes the references from that particular folder.
When you remove a reference from a folder, it is still “marked” for any other folders you have already chosen. If there are no marks left, it becomes “unfiled” and is available from the References Not In A Folder (in Folders/View or View/Folder) are in the or you can locate it by searching your RefWorks database.
You can also easily remove a reference from a folder (without removing it from your database), by deselecting the folder name in the In Folder drop-down box in the View or Edit mode.